Psalm 37:4 “Delight yourself also in the Lord, And He shall give you the desires of your heart.”

Philipians 2:13 “for it is God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure.”

Proverbs 22:6 “Train up a child in the way he should go, And when he is old he will not depart from it.”

I believe, that as we grow in God, he develops us into what He created us to be.  Jeremiah 1:5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you;”.  God plants dreams and desires within us, so that His will might be fulfilled on this earth.  As we mature in HIm, we become aware of God’s will in our lives, and as our desire to please Him grows, we will fulfill those shoes (or that’s the plan, right?)

I also believe, that children can be more aware of what God spent those nine months knitting into them, than what we may give them credit for.  They are not yet corrupted by what “the world” says should be desired and strived for. 

As they grow, we as parents, naturally desire “the best” for them, but what is that?  Is it “worldly” success? A great career? Friends and approval of others? Fame and fortune? They are all great in this world, but they do not stand up in “Eternity”.  What dreams do your children have? Are they small in the world’s eyes but large in God’s? 

My Master Nine, has always desired to travel and preach the Gospel.  I have always thought of this as a great aspiration, but have just been convicted of not nurturing this dream.  “Life” gets so busy and filled with all those things required in order to obtain “worldly success” that it would be easy for such a dream to be quashed in the daily grind.  Be careful to “train up a child in the way (God says) he should go”!

As a result of my conviction in this matter, we have started learning Chinese/Mandarin.  What joy and excitement it has brought!  What relief I feel in encouraging my son to keep his eyes fixed on God and what He may require him to do in the future!  There will be nothing else that can sustain him through the tumultuous teens, with all its emotions and changes, like keeping his eyes on the one who can see the end.

As a mother, it brings me great joy to know that God has a plan for my children.  It brings me even greater joy to see my children wanting to fulfill those plans.  Why would I encourage anything else?

