“1 I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service.  2 And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Romans 12:1-2

“16 I have given them Your word; and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world……18 As You sent Me into the world, I also have sent them into the world.” John 17:16 and 18

We have heard it said many times that we are “in the world, but not of the world”.  What do you do then, when the world creeps into your home?  How do you get it out again?  I speak regarding the raising of godly children, how does one keep them “unspotted from the world”?

My son, master Ten, is a wonderful boy who loves the Lord and has been given a vision and a heart for the Lord’s work in his future.  What a joy it is to encourage him in this! 

I am annoyed that despite great attempts at preserving or rather censoring what my son, master Ten, is exposed to, the world still penetrates.  I am disgusted at what the world has to offer…perversion on every side!  I am disturbed that such things are presented to appeal to young people!

Computer games are on my hit list now!  I don’t even want to write the (wish I could think of another word to describe it but can’t) “perverted” content which has spurred this rant, so I won’t.  It frustrates me that, in spite of restrictions, placed by me to try to avoid this very thing, outside influence occurs and then I am left with the job of trying to undo what has been done, and re-claim lost ground. 

It annoys me that adults (generally I mean, in our western society), even christian adults, no longer lead by example.  If a movie, computer game, book or any other thing is unsuitable for children… then it is probably unsuitable full stop! 

Children are so very perceptive!  It is important that they aspire, and admire, people whom we, as godfearing parents, approve of.  It is a parents responsiblity to choose the friends of our children, and do this wisely!  Peer pressure has become the phenomenom it is today, because “parent pressure” has been virtually phased out.

This also leads me to my next post…A point has been brought up by a book I have just finished reading.  In western culture, the church also has lost its influence.  The church is filled with the corruption of the world and is no longer a guardian of morals.

But take heart…there is One that has overcome the world.  If we plant seeds in our children’s hearts and the love of the Lord Jesus Christ grows in them, they too can overcome the world.  Teaching them to recognise worldly influence in light of God’s Word will give them a point of reference in which to check their own lives and choices.

“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my Path.”  Psalm 119:105

I am greatful that my children have a heart for God.  I will tell them the truth and the truth shall set them free.

C.

