I have had a number of conversations recently about the love of God. Many christians are of the opinion that because God is Love, more people will be getting into heaven than what we imagine. Funny, I can’t find anything in the Bible to substantiate this theory, in fact, quite the opposite. And the more I think about it, why would God not call for the highest standard?

I was reading through Matthew 22 a couple of days ago. Here are some of my thoughts on the Parable of the Wedding Feast, Matthew 22:1-14.

Verses 1-4 tell of a King who had prepared a wedding feast for the marriage of his son. The King invited guests and sent his servants out to call them to attend. The guests, however, were not willing to come. Upon hearing this, he again sent out other servants to tell those who were invited that all was prepared, and that they should come to the wedding.

Verses 5 and 6 tell of the guest’s response to the call of the King via his servants. “5 Some made light of it and went their own ways, one to his own farm another to his business. 6 And the rest seized his servants, treated them spitefully, and killed them.”

These guests who were initially invited are the Jews.  Though I can see a correlation between the guests who are too busy with their own lives, and the church today.  Also, I can see a likeness to the persecuted church, but, as I said, these guest are, generally considered the Jews who have rejected God’s invitation. 

I then came to the point where the gentiles are invited (verses 9-10). Those who respond to the call, join the feast, however, there is one present who is not wearing a wedding garment.

“12 So he (the king) said to him, ‘Friend, how did you come in here without a wedding garment?’ And he was speechless. 13 Then the king said to the servants, ‘Bind him hand and foot, take him away, and cast him into outer darkness; there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.'”

Did you notice what I noticed? The King calls this person “Friend” then sends him to hell!

Verse 13 is aimed at christians who have accepted the invitation to the wedding feast, not non-believers. I have always cringed when a certain song was played at my last church. The chorus said (over and over) “I am a friend of God, He calls me friend.” The focus of this song is not God, but “me” or “I”.  I know that God does call us friend, but in light of the above passage of scripture, we know that this is not an assurance of eternal life. We must constantly examine ourselves and ensure we spend our time about The Father’s business.

If we make light of our lives in Christ Jesus, and go our own way, making success in the temporal sense, tending to our farms or businesses like the invited guests in verse 5, our invitation to the wedding feast will be revoked.

God sent His son, Jesus, who suffered the death of the cross, took the punishment for all our sins, was separated from the Father, descended into Hell, which could not hold Him, and finally was risen to full glory and now sits at the right hand of the Father. Would God put His only Son through all this if it were not really necessary? I think not! Jesus did not die in vain! God is not just suddenly going to say, “Oh, you know what, I know you meant well, and are really a good person. I love you, so I’ll forgive you now even though you never fully committed to Jesus.” He will say, “Friend, you were invited, but you did not prepare yourself; I never knew you.” 

The wedding day is almost upon us. We, the bride, must be prepared for His coming and commit wholeheartedly to live each moment for Him and His glory.

