In an effort to raise my children in the ways of the Lord, (in purity, respecting both themselves and others and holding same in high regard) western society’s injection and acceptance of sexual impurity in all facets of daily life, is beyond worrisome.  I have been growing more disgusted with society’s flamboyant embrace of sexual sins that I have found myself beginning to abhor mankind. 

I know; this is NOT the heart of God!  How does one hate the sin, yet see beyond it, and truly love the sinner? The outworking of this being the embodiment of the love of Christ.

With a heart of repentance regarding the self-righteous pride blackening my soul, and after discussing this with my wayward husband (who so often says the most profound things – it is amazing how God is able to speak through those who are not yet His children!) I began searching the Word to discover God’s heart in this matter.  My husband’s advice was,

“Doesn’t the bible say something like, “He who is without sin cast the first stone?” (see John 8:7)” (Jaw drops in amazement at the voice of God)

I know that God does not discriminate between sins.  Mankind can be tempted to consider sin in a way that says, there are worse sins verses “not so bad” sins. God considers sin across the board.  Jesus died for the lies and the murders…it’s the same blood shed for all.  With this in mind, I accepted that the pride or righteousness of being free from sexual sins is just as bad as the sexual sin itself. 

“For with what judgment you judge, you will be judged; and with the measure you use, it will be measured back to you.” Matthew 7:2

After talking to my husband, I decided to read my bible to further hear from God.  I continued reading from where I left off in my daily readings, and read until I came to the following verses:

“…For He is kind to the unthankful and evil.  Therefore be merciful, just as your Father is also merciful.” Luke 6:35(b)-36. 

God is merciful.  Where we would condemn, He shows mercy.  Conversely what we are so often quick to excuse, God condemns.  Jesus died for all mankind, but more particularly, he died for those in darkness, those caught by the snares of sin. 

As the world grows darker every day, our lights must shine brighter.  I have been tempted to place my lamp under a basket for fear of darkness overtaking me and my household, but darkness cannot overtake light!  My children are safe in the Lord’s care, and I can trust Him to protect them while I am about His business.

In these last days, we must not let the corruption of the world paralyze us from completing the Lord’s work.  We must continue to live as Christ and draw ever nearer to Him as “it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me.” Galatians 2:20.  We must also remember what Christ has done in our own lives.  As someone whose past was thick with sexual sins, (perhaps this is why I have such distaste for this area…funny, you would think this would make me more understanding, hmmm) we must be ready to be merciful, just as our Father is also merciful.

This will be an ongoing lesson for me, as I will be required to continually live out what God shows me.  Those who have already been placed along my path, clearly have not been introduced to the love of God, and I feel the call to share with them.  Relationships are being established and while I have been baulking at the lifestyles witnessed, God’s love must not be hidden from those who so desperately need it (even if they do not yet know it).

“Let your light shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:16

