We have all heard the saying “You only live once.” It is the justification of the actions of many who know not the Lord Jesus. God’s word declares that for them, this is indeed the case; but for those who trust in Him, this life on earth pales in comparison to life eternal.

Psalm 17:14-15 “14…men of the world who have their portion in this life, and whose belly You fill with Your hidden treasure. They are satisfied with children, and leave the rest of their possession for their babes. 15 As for me, I will see Your face in righteousness; I shall be satisfied when I awake in Your likeness.”

I have written this post with my spirit rejoicing at the hope we have in Jesus and life eternal. How wonderful it will be to dwell in the glory of the Lord! As I read the following scripture, my heart leaps within me; it truly reflects the heart of all who love God.

Job 19:25-27 “25 For I know that my Redeemer lives, and He shall stand at last on the earth; 26 And after my skin is destroyed, this I know, that in my flesh I shall see God, 27 Whom I shall see for myself, and my eyes shall behold, and not another. How my heart yearns within me!”

We shall all stand face to face with the one who gave everything for us. Hallelujah! I am so grateful that my life is not limited to this world, and that I will NOT “only live once.” I sigh in relief at the thought!

1 John 3:2-3 “2 Beloved, now we are children of God; and it has not yet been revealed what we shall be, but we know that when He is revealed, we shall be like Him, for we shall see Him as He is. 3 And everyone who has this hope in Him purifies himself, just as He is pure.”

For those of us with our hope in Jesus, the anticipation of the moment in which we will stand face to face with Him, will cause us to purify ourselves.

In these days, when sin abounds more and more, those who know the Lord cannot help but prepare and ready themselves as we look for His coming. We must rid our hearts of anything that would seek to distract us from the love of God, and in so doing, the trappings of this world fade into nonsense and loose all value.

When I read the above scriptures earlier today, my hope rose to new heights. The time is all but upon us, when we shall no longer see in part, but all will be revealed. This moment will bring joy unspeakable to all whose lives are consumed with love for Jesus.

I feel the coming of Christ drawing closer with every new day and know that each one of us, right now, must redeem the time. I know that the days will darken quickly, things will turn upside down in a moment, and this will take many by surprise. We need not be surprised if we dwell close to the Lord and prepare as he leads us. My heart yearns for those who continue to forsake the Lord Jesus, whose hope and joy are caught up in all that is about to be shaken. Seeing the blindness of many who “only live once” brings much sorrow.

In saying this, it is our love and joy in the Lord that will draw people to seek the hope within us for themselves, so I have posted these scriptures to encourage all who may stop by. I pray that the spirits of all who read these words of God would leap and rejoice within them as we look forward to the revealed glory of the Lord.

