“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.” Genesis 1:1 

“Your hands have made me and fashioned me;” Psalm 119:73a

“Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed.  And in Your book they all were written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them.” Psalm 139:16

While I generally consider watching movies a frivolous waste of time (and a distraction from eternal matters which are of far greater importance), it is a past time my husband and I regularly enjoyed and thus when there is a night which work demands are not causing him an excruciatingly early rise the following morning, a movie is suggested.  I shudder at the thought of scanning the video store shelves, trying to remove from my mind images derived in hell as soon as I have passed over them.  To filter through all the gore and find something no too ghastly or provocative, that I might be able to stand sitting through, while still appealing to my husband, is quite the task!  I have somewhat cultivated a tolerance to violence, but things of a sexual nature are far beyond what I can stomach.  I generally look for M rated movies that just say “violence” rather than the plethura of other unsavouries available for the world’s viewing pleasure.

Anyway, having exhausted my sensitive mind and being hardly able to handle the horrid background noise of MA rated movie previews (I stand aghast at the language being played in a place frequented by children!) I chose…Clash of the Titans.  Now, I know…greek mythology…full of spiritual issues…but, I had to pick something!

It was interesting to see the greek mythological explainations of God, of course they were way off, creating a range of god’s instead of ascribing greatness to the one true God.  But watching this movie caused me to consider a couple of things which I wanted to share here.

I tend to see man’s twisted version of the gospel in nearly all movies.  Good verses evil, and the saviour etc.  In this case, it was even more blatant as you are dealing with god (or god’s) and man.  Really, even though the movie had the “good god” Zeus and the “evil god” Hades, the movie portrayed the god’s as that which was evil and man as good.  Herein lies the problem seed planted into the millions of minds who watch it.  Man is greater than God.  There were many other issues that one could point to, as I am sure there are in most movies, but that is not what led me to this post.

The exciting thought that came from pondering on what I had just watched was that God delights in details and there are none that escape Him.  In Clash of the Titans, the saviour (yes, they even refer to him as such a few times) of the movie was a part man part god human, the son of Zeus with a human mother and…he was a fisherman.  I laughed out loud when I discovered this and said to my husband “I guess it would be a little too much if they made him a carpenter!” 🙂 But this detail got me thinking.  There is no detail overlooked by God and the fact of the matter is, Jesus was not a fisherman, but a carpenter.  This did not happen by chance but it was orchestrated by God himself.

There had to be a point then to this detail.  So I thought, what does a fisherman do?  His aim is to catch or trap that which is a live with the view to making it die.  What does a carpenter do?  He takes what was once alive but has died and fashions it into something beautiful and purposeful. Hallelujah! What a great God we serve who is a carpenter and NOT a fisherman! 😀 I’ll take the authentic God any and every day over that which hollywood (and the greeks) can conjour up!

