What an awesome time I have spent with the Lord this morning!  I am overwhelmed by His goodness and His willingness to draw near to us as we draw near to Him.

I have been working through a comprehensive 31 day Prayer and Fasting program supplied by a church with which we are affiliated.  They complete this program as a church every year.

As I began the program late, (I didn’t start on the 10th of January like everyone else in the PNG church), I have been covering two topics a day to catch up.  This morning’s topic was:

Repentance from Pride

“Pride is the root of ALL SINS”

1.  Fear God and hate evil.

2.  Hate pride and arrogance.

3.  Evil behavior, perverse speech.

4.  Salvation of those who allow pride to rule.

Scriptures – Proverbs 13:10; Proverbs 8:13; Isaiah 2:11; Isaiah 12:2; Jeremiah 49:16; Psalm 29:5; Zephaniah 2:3; James 4:10.

As I read James 4:6-10 one of the headings inserted in my bible was “Humility cures worldliness.”  Everything in the world feeds pride and “self”.  Life here is “all about us.”  Humbling yourself before God and drawing near to Him is the only way to loose the bonds of worldliness and walk free from the temptations/lures of the world.

Zephaniah 2:3 states “Seek the Lord all you meek of the earth, who have upheld His justice.  Seek righteousness, seek humility. It may be that you will be hidden in the day of the Lord’s anger.”

We are to SEEK humility – it is not something that we can produce ourselves; our nature is “self-seeking” thus, only through spending time with the righteous Lord, and beholding his glory, may we be humbled before Him.

I am also reading through “The Imitation of Christ” by Thomas a Kempis, and last night, I read a sentiment he wrote which should be the desire of all believers:

“When will I fully gather myself in You, so that above all sense and measure, in a way not known to everyone, I will, because of my love for You, not be aware of myself at all but You alone.”

Desiring this state, where He is our all in all, is the only way to prevent the rise of self and to be free from desiring anything this world offers.  Kempis also said “Use temporal things, but desire eternal things.”

My two youngest children were awake early this morning, and quietly lay beside me on my bed as I repented, meditated on these things and prayed.  After about three quarters of an hour, I was finishing up when the elder of the two (my son, who will be 5 next month) said, “I was going to get you to read Isaiah 53.”

This was truly a blessing from God.  I opened my son’s bible and read the entire chapter aloud.  Jesus is our perfect example of humility and as I read Isaiah 53, we see the picture of Jesus humility and suffering for our sakes.  Here we see humility in action!  This brought me to tears as I thought of my own shortcomings and pridefulness…it brought me to a place of deeper repentance.  I thank God that our hearts are exposed through His Word, and as we seek Him, He does speak to us.

I turned on a CD as I made breakfast for us all and one of the songs sang the following words:

You lived, You died,

You said in three days You would rise,

You did, You’re alive.

 

You rose, You reign,

You said you’re coming back again,

I know that you will,

All the earth will sing your praises.

Praise God that what He says, He will do!  My son’s bible has little extra thoughts to consider throughout it.  Regarding Isaiah 53, it noted that Isaiah wrote this prophecy 700 years before Jesus was even born. (This impressed my 4 year old immensely!) It also said that prophecies like this one prove that the Bible really is the Word of God.

Jesus life also proves that we can trust Him to do what He says.  He IS coming back again…and my heart races in anticipation! “Come Lord Jesus, Come!”

 

